American Board of Medical Quality

ABOUT ACMQ

Goal

To support and promote professionally-recognized and relevant credentials for physicians in the specialty of Medical Quality Management.

Mission

The mission of the American Board of Medical Quality is to evaluate and certify professionals and programs in the science and management of improving clinical processes and outcomes in systems that service and deliver health care.

History

Incorporation
The American Board of Medical Quality (ABMQ) was incorporated in Pennsylvania in 1998.

ACMQ and ABMQ as Separate Entities
While ABMQ and the American College of Medical Quality (ACMQ) will maintain close professional communication and association, both organizations have affirmed the critical importance of operational independence and autonomy to assure the integrity of their specific, separate missions and functions. The roles of the two organizations are complementary but each functions as a distinct entity.

The role of ABMQ is to establish examination, certification and evaluation procedures for professionals and programs that present evidence of expertise, experience, and training in the field of Medical Quality Management. The core curriculum, as continually defined and developed by professional organizations such as ACMQ is, and will continue to be, the foundation and source material for (a) the development of examinations that can lead to the certification of individuals as specialists in Medical Quality Management, and (b) the evaluation of quality improvement programs. Data and information resulting from these activities will feed back into the continuous review and update of the core body of knowledge.

The role of ACMQ is to provide education and training for its members and others in the field of Medical Quality Management. It derives that role from its mission, which focuses on promoting competence in the core curriculum in quality (CCQ) for the practice of clinical quality improvement.

Strategic Relationship Between ABMQ and Other Organizations
Because the field of Medical Quality Management is both broad and deep, and encompasses all the clinical specialties and other health professional domains, ABMQ seeks to work with other examining and accrediting organizations that share compatible missions and common perspectives relevant to the specialty. Rather than inappropriate replication and duplication of their work, ABMQ is committed to supporting and enhancing such efforts through alliances and collaborative relationships with them and to examination and certifying strategies and methodologies consistent with the mission.

Board of Directors (2017 - 2018)

Dan M. Westphal, MD, MBA, CMQ (Chair)
SVP and CMO, Broward Health
Fort Lauderdale, FL
dwestphal@browardhealth.org

Carmen E. Gonzalez, MD, FACP, CMQ (Vice Chair)
Associate Professor, Dept of Emergency Medicine Dept Deputy Chair, Quality Officer
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
cegonzalez@mdanderson.org

James D. Cross, MD (Secretary/Treasurer)
Jim Cross, MD Consulting, LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
jimcrossmd@gmail.com

Donald Fetterolf, MD, MBA, CMQ (Past Chair)
Fetterolf Healthcare Consulting
Imperial, PA
donfetterolf@gmail.com

Jerry Abraham, MD, MPH, CMQ (Quality Scholar)
abraham.jerry@gmail.com

Fred Bromberg, MD, FACP, CMQ
Associate CMO
Wake Forest Baptist Health
Winston-Salem, NC
fbromberg@wakehealth.edu

Angelo A. Caprio, MD, PhD, MBA, MMM, CMQ
Holyoke Medical Center
Holyoke, MA
13acaprio@gmail.com

Beverly A. Collins, MD, MBA
Senior Medical Director, WellCare Health Plans
E New Market, MD drbac9@gmail.com

Yosef Dlugacz, PhD, CMQ
SVP & Chief of Clinical Quality, Education & Research
Krasnoff Quality Management Inst, NS-LIJHS
New Hyde Park, NY
ydlugacz@nshs.edu

 

Paul A. Gitman, MD, MACP, CMQ (Past Chair)
VP Medical Affairs, Emeritus, NSLIJ Health System
Manhasset Hills, NY
pgitman@optonline.net

Alan Krumholz, MD
krumholzmd@gmail.com

Annamaria Macaluso, MD, CMQ
Physician Liaison PI Comparative Analytics
Memorial Hermann – TMC
Houston, TX
Annamaria.macaluso@memorialhermann.org

Mark E. Reagan, Esq.
Managing Partner, Hooper, Lundy & Bookman PC
San Francisco, CA
mreagan@health-law.com

Benjamin D. Schanker, MD, MBA, MPH, CMQ
Resident, Yale-New Haven Health/Bridgeport Hospital
bdschanker@gmail.com

Prathibha Varkey, MBBS, MPH, MHPE, MBA (Non-voting ACMQ liaison)
Immediate Past President, ACMQ
varkey_p@yahoo.com

Jeffrey Zale, MD, MPH, FAAFP, CMQ
Physician Advisor, Clinical Resource Management
University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health
Baltimore, MD
jeffzale@gmail.com

Bridget Brodie (Executive Vice President)
ABMQ
PO Box 5839, Takoma Park, MD 20912
301-365-3162, Fax: 301-585-0296
Bridget.brodie@abmq.org